School Council

The Anglesea Primary School Council 2020


President: Kate Stanley

Vice President: Peter Crowcroft

Treasurer: Kate Stanley

Minutes Secretary: Yet to be filled

General School Council Members: Kate Stanley,  Mike Hegarty, Peter Crowcroft, Luke Grundy,  Lachlan Turner, Georgia Gilbert, Peggy Finemore, Rebecca Shaw, Cameron Shaw, Linda Wylie, Sandy Martin

Executive Officer: Murray Surkitt


Role of the School Council

  • Establish the broad direction and vision of the school within the school’s community
  • Participate in the development and  monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • Develop, review and  update school policies
  • Develop, review and monitor the Student Engagement Policy and the School  Dress Code
  • Raise funds for school-related purposes
  • Approve the annual budget and monitor expenditure
  • Maintain the school’s grounds and facilities
  • Enter into contracts (e.g. cleaning, construction work)
  • Report annually to the school community and to DET
  • Generally stimulate interest in the school in the wider community

Who is on School Council?
There are 3 categories of membership:

  • Parent members
  • DET employee members
  • Community (co-opted) members (optional)

School councillors are elected for a two-year term


Sub-committees of school council:

  • Finance
  • Environment/grounds/facilities/buildings
  • Policy
  • Outside School Hours Care (OSHC)

Want to know more? Who to talk to?

  • The principal
  • The school council president
  • Past and present school councillors
  • Community and Stakeholder Relations Branch (DET)
  • Volunteer for a subcommittee that interests you


© 2021 Anglesea Primary School The sponsor-ed Group